Most Popular

Tuesday, July 28, 2015

MVP National Team Versus SMC National Team

It is no secret that there is some squabbling going on between Philippine Basketball Association team owners Manny V. Pangilinan and Ramon S. Ang. Manny Pangilinan is the team owner of three PBA ballclubs namely the Talk N'Text Tropang Texters, Meralco Bolts, and NLEX Road Warriors. While Ang owns the San Miguel Corporation teams San Miguel Beermen, Star Hotshots, and the Barangay Ginebra Gin Kings. Sometimes, this rivalry affects the formation of Philippine national basketball teams as we are just witnessing anew with Gilas 3.0.

So for the sake of comparison, how could a national team made up of players from the MVP-controlled teams look like against a national team composed of players from all SMC-controlled teams. Let's also take a look at a national team composed of players from teams not officially aligned with the MVP or SMC groups. We only considered players who are eligible to play for the Philippines in official FIBA competitions and did not include the naturalized players.

All-MVP Team

An all-MVP team will be strong at the guard and forward spots but will only have one legitimate center that has the size to compete internationally, the ageless 6-9 rock Asi Taulava. The team could also feature Asia's best point guard in 2013, Jayson Castro William, combo forwards Ranidel De Ocampo, Kelly Williams, Jay Washington, Nino Canaleta, and Aldrech Ramos, banger Enrico Villanueva, defensive ace Matt Ganuelas-Rosser, combo guard Jared Dillinger, and scoring ace Gary David.

Starting Five 

Center:  Asi Taulava, 6-9
Power Forward:  Ranidel De Ocampo, 6-5
Small Forward: Matt Ganuelas-Rosser, 6-5
Shooting Guard: Larry Fonacier, 6-2
Point Guard: Jayson Castro William, 5-11


Center: Enrico Villanueva, 6-5
Power Forward: Kelly Williams, 6-7
Small Forward: Jay Washington, 6-6
Shooting Guard: Jared Dillinger, 6-3
Shooting Guard: Gary David, 6-2
Point Guard: Kevin Alas, 6-0 
Point Guard: Ryan Reyes, 6-0


Forwards: 6-6 Aldrech Ramos, 6-5 Nino Canaleta, 6-5 Reynel Hugnatan
Guards: 6-1 Mark Cardona, 6-0 Jonas Villanueva

All-SMC Team 

Aside from size at the center spot, an all-SMC team will be a complete team loaded at all positions. While they have the PBA's most dominant centers in Greg Slaughter and and PBA Season 40 MVP June Mar Fajardo, they also have an elite shooter in Marcio Lassiter, top point guards Alex Cabagnot, Mark Baroca and LA Tenorio, and a trio of athletic forwards in Marc Pingris, Japeth Aguilar, and Arwind Santos.

Starting Five 

Center: June Mar Fajardo, 6-10
Power Forward: Jean Marc Pingris, 6-4
Small Forward: Arwind Santos, 6-4
Shooting Guard: Marcio Lassiter, 6-3
Point Guard: L.A. Tenorio, 5-8


Center: Greg Slaughter, 7-0
Center: Ian Sangalang, 6-7
Power Forward: Japeth Aguilar, 6-9
Small Forward: Mac Baracael, 6-4
Shooting Guard: Chris Lutz, 6-4
Shooting Guard: James Yap, 6-3
Point Guard: Mark Baroca, 5-9


Center: 6-9 Mick Pennisi
Forward: 6-4 Allein Maliksi
Guards: 6-0 Alex Cabagnot, 5-9 Justin Melton, 6-0 Peter June Simon

All-PBA Team sans MVP/SMC Players

A national team that will not include players from the MVP and SMC fold will be wanting in height at the center spot manned by 6-7 Sonny Thoss, 6-9 Raymund Almazan, and 6-6 Beau Belga. They will most likely rely heavily on their guard play featuring Paul Lee, Jeff Chan, Dondon Hontiveros, Jayvee Casio, and Terrence Romeo.

Starting Five 

Center: Sonny Thoss, 6-7
Power Forward: Calvin Abueva, 6-1
Small Forward: Gabe Norwood, 6-5
Shooting Guard: Jeffrei Chan, 6-4
Point Guard: Paul Lee, 6-0


Center: Beau Belga, 6-6
Center: Raymund Almazan, 6-9
Shooting Guard: Dondon Hontiveros, 6-3
Shooting Guard: Terrence Romeo, 5-11
Point Guard: Jayvee Casio, 5-9 
Point Guard: Brian Heruela, 5-11 
Point Guard: RR Garcia, 5-11


Centers: 6-7 Jason Ballesteros
Forwards: 6-4 JC Intal, 6-5 Vic Manuel 
Guards: 6-3 Cyrus Baguio

No comments: